Writing

I’ve never been a particularly good writer. I’m the type that dreams up great ideas and stories to tell, but when push comes to shove, I lose it. An empty computer scream sits on my lap while I drink another unnecessary latte that I know I’ll regret later and I just give up. Frustration wins in the end and I exit out of the fresh word document.

I’ve never been eloquent. I just used autocorrect to spell eloquent. I’m the type of writer whose best friend is the synonym option to make my wording seem more elegant. I hate myself for this, but here I am. Writing my stupid thoughts while walking on a treadmill. I guess I get inspired during times in which I should be more concerned with falling off a moving machine. Let’s be honest, it wouldn’t be the first time. I once thought running on a treadmill while wearing a snuggie was a grand idea. Lawlz.

Funny enough, despite my total lack of confidence in my writing, I’ve been given the opportunity to write a weekly column for the University of Missouri’s MOVE Magazine, an insert in the newspaper known as The Maneater. It’s nothing great. I wish I could tell you that my column will be full of wisdom, political opinion or investigative reporting. It’s not. My column is called The Single Girl Diaries. It’s basically my version of Sex and the City sans sex and city. I will be telling stories of my horribly awkward life, so prepare yourselves. I’ll be extremely open, vulnerable and with a little luck, humorous.

With the new year in full swing, I’ve decided it’s time for me to begin an experiment. I want to write. I want to be a good writer. I just finished up my first News class towards my journalism major with a B. I hate Bs. The only letters in the English language I like less than Bs are Cs, Ds and Fs. My professor was very kind when I asked him about my grade, stating, “Considering that you said you were a photojournalist and not a writer…you did well.” I’m taking it as a compliment regardless of whether or not it was one.

So I guess what I’m saying is that this is the beginning. The beginning of my writing career. Though photography is my true passion, the written word is intertwined with a certain magic that I hope to unwind. Hold me to it. Even if you dislike my writing or hate my opinions, make me do this.

Thank you for your time and I wish you the best of luck with your own resolutions as well.

Leave a Reply

