Decisions

This semester is THE semester. The semester that I decide if I’m cut out for Photojournalism. To decide if it is something I truly love and want to pursue to the rest of my life. With that in mind, I’m currently taking two very project oriented classes within the Photoj spectrum: Fundamentals of Multimedia and Fundamentals of Photojournalism. We’ve barely dipped our toes into the water with both classes, but I can already tell that I love it. When I am behind the camera, I feel like I can truly see people.

I recently did a project for Photojournalism called Breaking the Ice. In the project, I was to take photos of 10 strangers and learn a little bit about each one. I’ll let you know now, this is one of the most difficult things I’ve had to do. I have a hard time approaching strangers because I hate to be a bother. I don’t like to irritate others and I often feel like people really hate when I try to take make their picture.

However, with the grade on the line, I had to put my big girl pants on and just do it. So I began to approach strangers and it turned out to be one of the best experiences I’ve ever had with photography. I met some of the most interesting people just walking down the sidewalk or working behind a counter. Even if I didn’t get a great story, I still learned about people. It’s something I love. I’m an observer.

Here are a few samples of the project:

Brandon-Kaldi's Barista

Brandon-Kaldi’s Barista

Claire-Occupy CoMo member

Claire-Occupy CoMo member

Vanessa-Animal Science major

Vanessa-Animal Science major

Something else that I’m extremely passionate about is Magazine Writing. I dabbled in it this past fall for the first time and decided I enjoyed it so much that I applied to be a columnist. When I actually got the column, I was elated. I get to spend all of Spring 2014 writing a weekly column called the Single Girl Diaries. It’s my way of expressing myself, telling silly stories and making people laugh. I enjoy so much that I have even considered switching from Photoj. (Shhh. Don’t tell my parents.)

What I want most is a blend of the two. Is that possible? I feel like I’m writing a letter to my advisor…

The conclusion that I’ve come to is that I LOVE journalism. I can’t imagine doing anything else. I just pray that I will be able to find a job in which I can follow my passions. I hope to improve my photography and my writing. I want to meet people and hear their stories.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

