The Adventure Begins

I’m currently sitting in a 12-passenger van with 11 people. We are snuggled (i.e., squished) together and jamming to Beyoncé. It’s truly beautiful. The people surrounding me we’re complete strangers to me less than a year ago. Now were great friends headed to North Carolina on an Alternative Spring Break trip. It boggles my mind.

I grew up in a small town knowing the same people my whole life, so coming to MU has completely altered my perspective of relationships. The friends I’ve made here have become a family.

So this week, rather than going home and seeing my real family, I’ll be spending all day, everyday with a bunch of amazing people my age that are willing to give up their spring breaks to help those less fortunate. I never expected this from my college experience. I never planned on meeting so many kind and caring human beings. I’ve never been so happy to be wrong.

I’m not really sure what to expect from this trip. A lot of great experiences and hopefully the chance to share love and joy with the Headstart program of Franklin, NC.

If you decide you want some updates, you can follow our Twitter handle @MAB_Franklin.

Leave a Reply

