Home

This past week really tested my sanity. For some reason, the majority of my professors thought that spring break was a time in which we do nothing but sit on our couches and watch TV, so of course we would have plenty of time to work on assignments, study for tests and write a paper or two. Unfortunately, that isn’t always the case.

I spent my spring break with a group of 11 people in North Carolina for Alternative Spring Break. I didn’t have the time or consistent internet access to accomplish many of the tasks asked of me, meaning that over the first week back, I had several sleepless night and produced subpar work.

New ASB Album Cover

New ASB Album Cover

Now don’t get me wrong. I absolutely loved my ASB trip. I had an amazing time. We worked in the Macon County Program for Progress, a branch of the Head Start Program that provides education to kids 0-5. I got to spend my days playing with 1- and 2-year-olds that could say “cow” and “cat.” It was beautiful.

Though we were there to serve the community, I know for a fact that our students got more out of it that the community did. I watched hearts change. The joy of getting to work with the children and the heartbreak of knowing that they’re lifestyles are far below what is deserved really hit home for our small group of college students.

However, reality once again set in when it was time to say our goodbyes to a community we fell in love with. And suddenly, I was sitting in my 8:30 a.m. class on Monday morning as if nothing happened. It was jarring and made me want to crawl into a hole. How am I supposed to come back after something like that and go one with normal life?

I’ve been on many a service trip in my life, and every time it’s the same thing. Usually, however, it’s in the summer and I have recovery time. Here, I have zero recovery time.

The reason why this past week has been so awful is probably just because I am exhausted. I haven’t seemed to have a break since Christmas. Between ResLife, journalism and life, I am constantly going. Don’t get me wrong, I love all those things, but I am in need of a break. I tried to plan a spontaneous trip home this weekend, but then this and that came up, no one would take my On-Call shift Friday, my final project subject was able to meet Saturday (that’s actually really happy, but I still can’t go home), etc. The list goes on and on.

At this point, I am just ready for summer. I hate to say that because I know how precious these few years left of college truly are, but I just really need home.

Leave a Reply

