Photographer for Hire – Summer in a Small Town

This summer, I’ll be home in good ol’ Branson West, working (most likely in a cave) and spending my free time on the lake. I’m looking forward to not being stressed out about school, but I’m also sad that I won’t have a project to keep me busy. I know I complain about being overwhelmed and stressed with school work, but thinking about the summer, I hate the idea of being a bum. I want to practice journalism. All the time.

I think that’s a good sign. I obviously have a passion for the field that I want to spend the rest of my life in. That’s why I’m kicking myself in the butt for not applying for any internships this summer. I had originally planned to get a job as a server so I could make money and actually afford my Spring 2015 semester abroad. Unfortunately, I’m not entirely sure that will work out the way I’d like and now I’m stuck.

I love home, don’t get me wrong, but it’s a little too small town for what I have planned in life. I’m ready to start going places, meeting people, creating connections, building a portfolio and living my own life.

I don’t know where all this independence came from. The rest of my family loves the down-home life style. I love it too, at least for a little while at a time. What I really need to do is get a taste of a big city. Man, I really should have applied for an internship.

So instead, I plan to spend my summer building up a personal portfolio. I doubt it’d ever be published, but living in a town like Branson has it’s perks. There are a lot of unique people here that have amazing stories to share, so I figure why not? Maybe I’ll get lucky.

On top of that, I hope to work as a freelance photographer doing portraiture and whatnot, but we shall see. The future is an exciting place.

That’s about all I have for this week. I’m finally home, taking a break, spending time with family and loving life.

The End

Leave a Reply

