The Come to Jesus Meeting

One Eye Open

I was talking with one of my classmates after having been discouraged by my apparently singular lack of knowledge about my equipment, expressing how I needed to sit down and get intimate with my stuff. Her next words made me laugh and feel so encouraged about learning.

“Ugh, I need to do the same. I need a come to Jesus meeting with my camera.”

It was so incredibly reassuring to know that I was not alone in my struggles. That someone else felt almost as lost as I did do. 

My roommate noticed my sulking, too, and I spilled my guts to him about my insecurities. He was super cool to me about it, even though I felt so embarrassed. 

“That’s the first step though, right? You know that there’s things you don’t know.” 

And he’s right. Knowing that I have this serious gap is the first step in remedying…

View original post 309 more words

Leave a Reply

