I know what I want.

I’m having a revelation. Right now. As I write this.

I know what I want to do with my life. 

andy-dwyer-reacts

But here’s the problem: I don’t know if I’m cut out for it.

I want to be a photographer for an outdoors magazine (OUTSIDE MAG OH EM GEE) or some commercial outdoors company (PATAGONIA NORTHFACE WHAATTT?) that allows me to travel the natural world with people that are extremely passionate about it. I want to explore. I want to meet new and exciting people, do new and exciting things. I want to surround myself with those that live life. I want to step outside my comfort zone. I want to climb a mountain, scuba dive deep in the ocean, backpack across Europe, tell stories both visually and verbally, and I want to do this as a career. Not as a side hobby or something to do in my (nonexistent) free-time with my (nonexistent) money.

I understand that this is really reaching. I know this sounds outlandish and unrealistic. I don’t know if I’ll ever get here with my life, but boy, it sure sounds great, doesn’t it?

So how do I get here? Of course I expect to hold a number of less than desirable positions. I may discover a passion in something else along the way. Maybe I’ll be a writer for Buzzfeed (a girl can dream) or a photo editor at a dinky newspaper in rural Missouri (which would also be kind of cool). WHO KNOWS?

But it definitely feels nice to have a direction. I may not be following the direct route of a normal photojournalist, but I want to spend my life doing something I’m excited about. Something that doesn’t make mentally exhausted at the end of the day, but physically exhausted because I had been hiking through Norway or snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef. I want to share the beauty of the world with those that so often overlook it. We’ve been given an amazing gift to live this life on Earth and so few take advantage of that.

I don’t know where this adventurous spirit comes from and I doubt I’ll ever live up to it, but for right now, I’m content in my daydreams and hope to one day make them my reality.

Leave a Reply

